Saturday, February 22, 2020

Naperville Central Competes at IHSA Individual State

February 20-22, 2020

Tyler Driessens entered the State Farm Center on the campus of the University of Illinois as a two time state qualifier.  Driessens battled Ronon Schuelke of Glenbard North in the opening round of the Class AAA tournament at 120 pounds and lost by decision 2-1.  In the wrestle-backs, Driessens faced off against Nuerater of Lake Zurich.  Nuerater opened the scoring with a takedown but, with just four seconds left in the first period, Driessens scored a reversal to tie the score 2-2.  In period two, Driessens picked the down position and scored an escape in just 16 seconds.  A Nuerater takedown attempt was countered by Driessens and the Redhawk rolled through with a cut-back to score a takedown and three point nearfall to take a 8-2 lead out of the second period.  Driessens then turned the Lake Zurich wrestler and locked down the fall at 3:33.  It was the 41st win for the senior captain.  In round two of the wrestle-backs, Driessens had a rematch with Colton Drousias of Mt. Carmel.  Drousias, a returning state champion was able to defeat Driessens by major decision 12-3, ending the tournament for Driessens.  Colton Drousias finished in third place.

Senior Angelo Eklou, a first time state qualifier, entered the 220 pound weight class against the number one ranked wrestler in the tournament, Ryan Golnick of Jacobs.  The opening period saw no scoring.  In period two, Eklou scored an escape and drew a stalling call against Golnick.  Then Eklou scored a takedown midway through the period.  Golnick countered with an escape and takedown to tie the score 3-3 out of the second period.  The third period proved to be the deciding frame as Golnick scored an escape and takedown make the score 6-3.  Eklou attempted a shoulder roll to escape, but was caught temporarily on his back, giving up a two point nearfall for the deciding score of 8-3.  In the wrestle-backs, Eklou squared off against Gus Salah of Tinley Park Andrew.  Eklou scored on a single leg takedown in the first period.  The Eklou capitalized on the top position and locked down the fall with 10 second left in the opening frame for the win.  The victory moved the senior’s record to 34-9 on the year.  In the second wrestle-back round Eklou faced #2 ranked Gio Jackson of Buffalo Grove.  Most of the scoring happened in the second period as Jackson scored an escape and two takedowns to take a commanding 5-1 lead.  Eklou scored an escape in the third period, but was unable to score further, losing 5-2.  Gio Jackson ended up as the 5th place finisher in state.

Ryan Silva earned time on the floor of the State Farm Center at 152 pounds.  The senior was paired with Jimmy Pierendozzi of Plainfield South in the preliminary round.  Pierendozzi won the match by technical fall 18-3.  The Plainfield wrestler ended up in the championship match of the tournament.  In the wrestle-back match, Silva fought Jake Matthews of Addison Trail.  Matthews scored a fall at 2:56, ending the day for Silva.

Next up the Redhawks will reunite their dual team squad and compete in the IHSA Dual Sectionals against Chicago Mt. Carmel.  The match will take place at Sandburg High School on Tuesday, February 25, 2020 with action starting at 6:00pm.  The winning team will advance to IHSA Dual State as one of the top eight teams in state.  Dual State will be wrestled on Saturday, February 29, 2020 in Bloomington.  Silva’s record is now 34-10 on the season.

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Naperville Central Qualifies 3 to IHSA Individual State

Twelve NCHS Wrestlers Battle at Sectionals

February 14 – 15, 2020                                                   

Angelo Eklou, 220 2nd Place
Tyler Driessens, 120 3rd Place
Ryan Silva, 152 4th Place

Naperville Central competed with a record twelve participants at the IHSA Sectional Wrestling Tournament held at Hinsdale Central High School.  Top four finishers qualify for the IHSA State Tournament in Champaign next weekend and three Redhawks were able to qualify, all seniors.  NCHS won 21 matches out of 43 competed.

Angelo Eklou (220) entered the tournament as a Regional Champion and made good use of his spot in the sectional bracket.  In the quarterfinals, Eklou pinned Liberatore of Marist and then punched his ticket to state by pinning Anderson of St. Rita in the semifinals.  In the sectional, Elkou lost a decision to Zimmer of Sandburg. 

Tyler Driessens (120) scored a 9-1 decision against Nugent of Downers Grove South to push his way to the semifinals.  There he battled #1 ranked Colton Drousias of Mt. Carmel.  Driessens suffered a 4-13 loss, but then won in the blood round (consolation semifinals) against Perez of Hinsdale Central to become a two-time state qualifier.  Driessens finish the tournament defeating Dunlap of Marist to bring home the bronze medal.

Ryan Silva accomplished his goal of becoming state qualifier after defeating Bettiga of Lyons Township in the blood round by a score of 4-1.  The senior find his name on the state qualifier board.  Silva won on day one of the competition, scoring a 8-4 decision to Boland of Marist to make the semifinals.  Silva lost the rematch to Boland in the third place match. 

Sunday, February 9, 2020

Naperville Central Regional Champions

12 NCHS Wrestlers Advance to Sectionals

1st: Naperville Central 214
2nd: Marmion Academy 173.5
3rd: West Aurora 127.5
4th: Naperville North 125.5
5th: Wheaton Warrenville South 85
6th: East Aurora 76
7th: Waubonsie Valley 62
8th: Metea Valley 23

Regional Champions: Tyler Driessens (120), Ryan Silva (152), Angelo Eklou (220).
Regional Finalists: Tommy Porter (113), Elrin Esporlas (132), Ayden Lutes (145), Sean King (160), Shane Roth (170)
Regional Bronze Medalists: Ethan Olson (106), Bryce Cooperkawa (138), Tariq Sikander (182), Carson Enfield (285).

February 9, 2020

Naperville Central won the eight team IHSA Regional Tournament held at Marmion High School by 40.5 points.  It was the first Regional title for the Redhawks since 2012.  Marmion had won the event for the past seven years in a row.  Wrestlers placing in the top three qualify for the IHSA Individual Sectional Tournament to be held next weekend (Friday and Saturday) at Hinsdale Central High School.  The Redhawks had a school record 12 out of 14 qualify for the Sectionals.  Central has never qualified more than 9 in a given year for at least the past 20 years.  This marked the 4th time in the last 36 years that NCHS has won a Regional.  Every entrant for the Hawks won a match and 13 placed.

Naperville Central has qualified for the IHSA Dual Sectional to be held Tuesday, February 25th against Chicago Mt. Carmel.  That make NCHS one of the top 16 teams in the state of Illinois.  The winner of the dual will compete at the IHSA Dual State Tournament in the state quarterfinals.

Sunday, February 2, 2020

Naperville Central Hosts DuPage Conference JV1 and JV2 Tournaments

February 1, 2020

JV1 Team Results
1st Naperville North 241, 2nd Naperville Central 222, 3rd DeKalb 173, 4th Metea Valley 88, 5th Waubonsie Valley 71, 6th Neuqua Valley 49.

JV2 Team Results
1st Naperville Central 266, 2nd Naperville North 156, 3rd Waubonsie Valley 107, 4th Neuqua Valley 99, 5th Metea Valley 96, 6th DeKalb 37.

JV1 DVC Champions: 132 Philip Marrero, 138 Austin Nesci, 145 Anthony Pendolino, and 170 Manny Rivera

JV2 DVC Champions: 120 Patrick Geiger 126, Yiguang Zhu 132, Chris Ramirez 138, Sean Bakos 152, Michael Salvo 160, Nick Antonietti 170, and Jeremiah Christen 185.